Carson High School announces scholarships

Many Carson High School students will be taking more than just the knowledge they've acquired with them as they leave high school and embark into the real world.

The high school honored its top students Wednesday night at a ceremony where more than 130 students received scholarships.

Ehren Miller, 18, was recognized for receiving a full-ride scholarship to the United States Military Academy at West Point valued at approximately $229,000.

Miller said he is overwhelmed at the opportunity to attend West Point.

"Think of an emotion you could possibly feel and I feel it," Miller said. "I've never done anything this big before."

Miller will leave for the academy which is about 50 miles north of New York City, on June 29.

After completing the four-year program, he will be commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army. He is committed to serve at least five years in the service.

"Right now, I'm positive that I want to make a career out of the military," he said. "I'm quite confident that I'll be able to fulfill my dream to have a career in the U.S. military."

Vicki Parsons, the school board representative for the high school, received seven scholarships with a total value of over $17,000.

"That's so much money, I can't even believe it," she said. "I feel honored and grateful."

Parsons plans to attend the University of Nevada, Reno and pursue a degree in elementary education.

Principal Glen Adair congratulated the parents for their children's accomplishments.

"Not only are your children finishing school, they are finishing school well," he said. "Many of them will be leaving with near full-ride scholarships to various institutions."

Jennifer Turner was named the class valedictorian and Dawn Hadden the salutatorian out of 448 students.

Nicholas Johnson was recognized for having received a perfect score of 1600 on the SAT exam.

The top 20 students of the class of 2000, whose grade-point averages range from 3.84 to 3.98 are: Davina Carter, Carrie Stair, Nancy Wong

Jeremy Leatham, Julie Hardt, Claire Jaquette, James Hamtak, Toby Steele, Nicholas Johnson, Monirath Saly, Pam Williams, Ryan Costella, Kevin Cote, Bridgit Taylor, Kyle Troescher, Sarah Buck, Caylen Dakin, Cheoree Mcintosh, Karalyn Heath and Marc Liveratti.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment