Rhoads, McGinness, deBraga file for re-election

Three veteran rural lawmakers filed for re-election to the Nevada Legislature on Tuesday.

Mike McGinness is seeking a third term representing the Central Nevada Senatorial District and Dean Rhoads is running for a fifth term representing the Northern Nevada Senatorial District.

McGinness, a Fallon radio station executive, represents the largest geographic area of any member in the Nevada Legislature with part or all of eight Nevada counties in his district. He headed the Senate Taxation Committee during the 1999 Legislature.

Rhoads, a Tuscarora cattle rancher, represents the second largest geographic district in the Legislature with part or all of five counties. He chaired the Senate Committee on Transportation in 1999.

Thus far, Rhoads has not drawn any opposition to his re-election bid.

McGinness, however, faces a challenge by Ed Bearman of Pahrump who filed Monday with the Secretary of State. Bearman is a Democrat.

DeBraga, a Fallon Democrat, is seeking her fifth term in the Assembly. Her district, which overlaps the northern half of McGinness's, is one of the state's largest Assembly districts, stretching from Fallon to Ely.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment