Nevada Day revisited: 1963 & 1973

Editor’s Note: This continues a series featuring the Appeal’s coverage of past Nevada Days.

Reprinted from the Nov. 1, 1963 Nevada Appeal:

The Miss Nevada Day prize went to Connie Meneley, a 17-year-old high school senior from Gardnerville. The brown eyed beauty with hair to match was sponsored by the Carson Valley Chamber of Commerce. She was officially crowned by Gov. Grant Sawyer at half-time of the Carson-Hawthorne football game.

Carsonite Jacqueline Darrigrand was named runner-up in the glamour contest. The 17-year-old beauty was recently named Miss Carson City.

Second runner-up in the Miss Nevada Day contest went to Geri Ross, Miss Reno Chamber of Commerce. The 19-year-old charmer is a student at the University of Nevada.

“The grandest lady” in the Admission Day parade yesterday once again was spry and popular Sade Grant. She has taken part dancing in the annual parade since the 1938 celebration, and yesterday won the Best Sustained Character award.

Other winners as announced by parade chairman Forest Hall, with first, second and third listed in that order, were:

Mounted Group, open — Nevada White Hats, Sahwave Appaloosa Club of Nevada, no third place.

Mounted Group, service organization — Nevada State Rangers, Washoe County Sheriff’s Posse, no third place.

Junior Mounted Group — Ormsby County Junior Sheriff’s Posse, Ormsby County 4-H Horse Club, no third place.

Mounted Group, family or other unit — J.D. Tush family, Western Stables, Nevada Carson’s Lonestar Rangers.

Mounted Pairs — Jill Dennis and Mary Haberman, Mr. and Mrs. Elmo Roberts, Leona Moxley and Kathy Mayginnes.

Parade Horse — Bill Blancett, Martha R. Rabe, Victoria K. Pugsley.

Silver Mounted — Georgene Larsen, George R. Byers, Joyce E. Adams.

Modern Horse Drawn Equipment — Norman Brown, Bob Oakley, no third place.

Old Horse Drawn Equipment, Historical — Bell Telephone Co. of Nevada, Steen Ranches, no third place.

Old Horse Drawn Equipment, General — Bill Williams, Yerington Chamber of Commerce, Art Zweibel, Bob and Dorothy Diefenderfer.

Senior Cowboy, Working — John D. Pugsley, Martin Luedtke, Terry Swift.

Junior Cowboy — Billy Germain, Butch Ricci, Gary Broyles.

Senior Cowgirl, Working — Joan Gansberg, Mrs. Harrie Frost, Lis Stubbs.

Junior Cowgirl — Gaye Gansberg, Nancy Martin, Mary Brady.

Best Dressed Cowboy — Lance Wayne, Tim Jaurequito, no third place.

Best Dressed Cowgirl — Jody Dube, Cheri Ferretto, Laura Caramella.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment