Nevada Legislature: Assembly approves mandatory 8-year license plate renewal

Nevada Assembly members have approved a measure requiring car owners obtain reissued license plates every eight year period.

Assembly members voted 28-13 to approve AB484 on Saturday. It now goes to the Senate.

The measure requires car owners to obtain new state-issued license plates every eight years. Supporters said the plates cost a minimum of $3.50 and would ensure that more license plates meet federal standards and remain in better condition over time.

A handful of Republicans opposed the measure and said it burdened taxpayers and would force drivers to turn in workable plates.

The bill would take full effect in July 2016.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment