In late March, the Office of the Labor Commissioner sent a notice to remind Nevada employers the minimum wage will increase again on July 1.
As approved in the 2019 Nevada Legislature, Assembly Bill 456 increases the minimum wage in increments of 75 cents annually through 2024.
The first increase occurred in 2020, from $7.25 an hour to $8 an hour for employees who are offered qualifying health benefits, and from $8.25 an hour to $9 an hour for employees not offered health benefits.
Beginning July 1, and lasting through June 30, 2022, the minimum wage rate will increase to $8.75 per hour and $9.75 per hour, respectively.
According to the state’s March 26 notice, the increase also impacts daily overtime rates for the same period. Employees who earn more than one and one-half times the minimum wage for both tiers — $13.125 an hour and $14.625, respectively — are eligible for overtime at one and one-half times their regular rate of pay for over 40 hours of work in a week.
“For employees that earn less than the amounts listed above, in addition to overtime pay after the traditional 40-hour week, Nevada law also provides for overtime pay at one and one-half times an employee’s regular rate of pay for working more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period,” according to the March 26 update.
Long-term, minimum wage will reach $11 per hour and $12 per hour, respectively, by July 1, 2024.Go labor.nv.gov for annual bulletins for minimum wage and overtime.