People: Nevada State Bank honors 6 with Open Door Award

This year's Open Door Award winners are: Brendon Borrego, Melissa McIntee, Lela Palsgrove, Quintina Sheppard, Susan Stanton and Nabor Torres.

This year's Open Door Award winners are: Brendon Borrego, Melissa McIntee, Lela Palsgrove, Quintina Sheppard, Susan Stanton and Nabor Torres. Courtesy Photos

Nevada State Bank held its Annual Officers Meeting virtually on March 2-3, handing out top awards for the year, including the Open Door Award, the bank’s so-called “most coveted honor.”

“Open Door Award winners are a select group of bank colleagues who exemplify what it means to live Nevada State Bank’s eight core values each day,” according to a March 12 press release. “Each year, the Open Door awardees are honored for living those core values in their careers, finding professional success, giving back to the community, as well as sharing their experience and expertise with their colleagues.

This year’s Open Door Award recipients are:

  • Brendon Borrego: VP/Portfolio Risk Officer - Reno
  • Melissa McIntee: VP/Lovelock and Winnemucca Branch Manager
  • Lela Palsgrove: VP/Pebble Branch Manager
  • Quintina Sheppard: AVP/Commercial Cash Vault Manager
  • Susan Stanton: SVP/Human Resources Manager
  • Nabor Torres: SVP/Sales Administrator

“We strive to recognize employees year-round at Nevada State Bank, however, our Open Door, Lifetime Achievement, and Living Our Values awards are my favorite part of our Annual Officers Meeting. It’s a tradition each year that we honor those colleagues who went far above and beyond their work duties the previous year,” Terry Shirey, Nevada State Bank president and CEO, said in a statement. “These awards encompass the eight core values of Nevada State Bank and what we strive to be as a company.”

The bank also honored John Vanderploeg, a 30-year employee of Nevada State Bank who works as senior vice president/branch manager at the bank’s West Sahara location, with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Further, the bank honored the following Living Our Values honorees for 2021:

  • Extraordinary Service: Brenda Pape, VP/Craig and Jones Branch Manager
  • Extraordinary Service: Timotej Sijanta, Centennial Hills Client Service Associate
  • Extraordinary Service: Damien Bauman, Area Retail Mortgage Production Manager
  • Adaptability: Nathaniel Hanus, Web Software Developer
  • Adaptability: Eric Sassman, VP/Financial Analyst
  • Respect: Megan Andrist, Henderson Heights Assistant Branch Manager
  • Respect: Nikki Dadlani, VP/Professional Banking Relationship Manager
  • Communication: Stephanie Whitmyer, VP/Banking Operations Quality Assurance Manager
  • Communication: Marci Spearman, VP/South Carson Branch Manager
  • Development: Clarence Hamilton, VP/Small Business Relationship Manager
  • Development: Leena R. Khoury, Mountain City Branch Relationship Banker
  • Accountability: Lori Logan, AVP/Business Analyst
  • Community: Natalie Molina, Senior Administrative Assistant
  • Community: Mike Hines, VP/Business Banker
  • Teamwork: Brandon York, VP/Business Banker
  • Teamwork: Alisha Roberts, Middle Office Loan Closer


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment