NNDA’s Pioneer Awards recipients | nnbw.com

NNDA’s Pioneer Awards recipients

Carson City Mayor Bob Crowell was named 2014 Pioneer of the Year by the Northern Nevada Development Authority last week for his contributions to the city and the Sierra region.

Other winners of NNDA Pioneer Awards include:

The Battle Born Award (best green practices): Nevada Rural Housing Authority, and Silver State Elementary GREEN team.

The Boundary Peak Award (outstanding nonprofits): Carson Animal Services Initiative, Comstock Foundation for History and Culture, NCET, Nevada Rural Housing Authority, Northern Nevada Tool Library, and Silver Stage Co-Op Association.

The Comstock Award (innovator of the year): Pro Group Management and St Mary’s Art Center.

The Doc Holliday Award (healthcare initiative): Churchill Community Coalition and Lyon County Healthy Communities Coalition.

The Homestead Award (agriculture initiative): Dairy Farmers of America, EasyKeeper, and Frey Ranch Estate Distillery.

The Kit Carson Award (entrepreneur of the year): – Charles Harrall, Kay Bennett, and Renee Plain

The Mark Twain Award (marketing campaign): Carson City Toyota Scion and Live Local Fallon

The Pony Express Award (community involvement) Carson City, NCET, and Nevada Rural Housing Authority.

The Silver Apple Award- (educator of the year): Carson City School District, Learn @ Reno Collective, and Western Nevada College.

The Silver Spur Award (employee of the year): Derek Stanford of the U.S Postal Service and Monica McDonald Personnel Plus Staffing

The Silver State Award (outstanding student): Jacob Bertocchi and Shae Starbuck

The Wagon Wheel Award (new technology or product): Dairy Farmers of America, Pro Group Management and Zephyr Photonics.

Honored by individual counties in the NNDA region were Ametherm (Carson City), Frey Ranch Estate Distillery (Churchill County), Bently (Douglas County), Best Environmental (Lyon County) and the Comstock Foundation for History and Culture (Storey County).


See more