Carson City nursing care facility clears first step with Board of Supervisors

It would be placed close to the site of the old hospital

A congregate care nursing facility with a memory care unit won a preliminary blessing Thursday from Carson City’s Board of Supervisors.

The board voted 4-0, with one abstention, for introduction on first reading of an ordinance authorizing zoning eventually for nearly five acres that would allow multi-family housing rather than a public community designation at 1001 Mountain St. and 608-610 W. Washington St. Supervisor Brad Bonkowski abstained to avoid a conflict of interest. The next step at a coming meeting is the subsequent adoption of the ordinance.

Carson Tahoe Health, which formerly had its hospital just to north of the acreage before moving to the medical campus at the northern edge of the city, and Prestige Care, a firm based in the northwest that has multiple nursing homes, are planning an 86,000 square foot facility on part of the 4.9 acres. There also will be a landscaped mini-park on part of the acreage that’s in the flood plain.

In other afternoon action, the city’s governing board voted unanimously to urge the Nevada Legislature support a bill emanating from Bill Draft Request 625 to develop and preserve the decommissioned Nevada State Prison in Carson City. It’s the next step at the state level, which follows enactment of Assembly Bill 356 in 2013 calling for exploration of historical, educational and other uses of the unused prison.

That legislation was sponsored by the late Pete Livermore, a former city supervisor and District 40 state assemblyman.

The board in addition, during its afternoon session, named Court Cardinal and Craig Mullet to serve on the Redevelopment Authority Citizens Committee. Cardinal will hold the business/property owner slot; Mullett was chosen as the at-large representative over four other applicants.

The board also named Doug Martin as the city’s representation with the Nevada Tahoe Conservation District and reappointed to the city’s Historic Resources Commission Jed Block, Lou Ann Speulda-Drews and Dr. Gregory Hayes.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment