People: PBS Reno Board of Trustees elects officers for 2023

Christine Fey

Christine Fey

The PBS Reno Board of Trustees has elected officers for 2023; Christine Fey and Sara Lafrance.

Fey will serve as chair and will work closely with Lafrance, vice chair; Donald Kowitz, treasurer; and Stacey Montooth, secretary. Mark Herron, who served as chair in 2022, will continue to provide his expertise to the board of trustees in his new role as past chair. All five officers were selected for their respective roles during the PBS Reno annual meeting in November.

Fey earned her bachelor’s degree in anthropology and master’s degree in land use planning from the University of Nevada, Reno.



During her 29-year tenure with the City of Reno, Fey was a planner for new development, neighborhood planning, long-range planning, and historic preservation.

Fey also served two terms as the vice presidents of the Nevada Chapter of the American Planning Association, staffed the Reno Arts and Culture Commission for 26 years and serves on several non-profit boards in the Reno area. Fey has resided in Reno for more than 40 years, where she raised her two children.

Lafrance holds a Bachelor of Arts in English/Journalism from the University of Nevada, Reno, and a Master of Arts in Organizational Change from Skidmore College, Saratoga Springs.

Lafrance co-founded and served as president of Century Analysis, Inc., a software manufacturer for 24 years until its sale in 1998.

Since that time, she has been actively involved with the University of Nevada, Reno, serving on the Foundation Board of Trustees; the College of Engineering Advisory Board; the College of Liberal Arts Advisory Board; and the Nevada Research and Innovation Corporation, which she currently chairs.

Lafrance is a longstanding member of Sierra Angels, the Reno Philharmonic, Classical Tahoe, Lake Tahoe Shakespeare, and Guide Dogs for the Blind.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment