Carson High honor choir chosen

Forty-two of the Carson High School choral department students were recently chosen by audition to be in the 2014 Northern Zone Nevada Music Educators Association High School Honor Choir. This ensemble will work on music at the high school with teacher Andrew Sonnemaker until January, when a massed pre-rehearsal with the 132 members from all over this area of the state come together at Carson High School to rehearse as a complete ensemble.

In February the ensemble will gather in Fallon for two days working under guest director Donny Rose, music educator at Curtis High School in University Place, Wash., and director of the Northwest Sound Men’s Chorus. This experience culminates in a performance at Churchill County High School at 7 p.m. Feb. 7.

Congratulations to the following CHS Choral Department students selected for this ensemble:

Sopranos: Emma Baglin, Anastasia Bevin, Sara Breland, Heather Evans, Bella Favero, Juliet Favero, Izzy Garcia, Lona Garman, Abby Gould, Jennifer Huckabay, Sadie Janssens, Caitlyn Lee, Chrislyn Lyons, Kayleigh Remington.

Altos: Ali Barchus, Summer Barth, Courtney Baxter, Kati Ceragioli, Katasha DeGraw (assistant section leader), Emily Eiswert, Sharon Knight, Taylor Koop, Gabi Kortemeier, Katelyn McDonald.

Tenors: Jackson Baker, Daniel Cihigoyonetche, Raleighy Dennis, William Hoffecker, Dylan Shirey, Tyler Torres, Stanley Unruh, Topher Verhagen, Henry Wilson.

Basses: Spencer Bean (section leader), Robert Bowman, Michael Ferrigno, Ivan Gates, Michael Irvin (assistant section leader), Roberto Mercado, Josiah Mouritsen, Victor Quispe, Isaiah Williams.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment