Sierra Nevada Realtors announces 2023 award recipients

Christie Fernquest and Sara Sharkey - Realtors of the Year

Christie Fernquest and Sara Sharkey - Realtors of the Year

Sierra Nevada Realtors is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Sierra Nevada Realtors Awards.

Christie Fernquest and Sara Sharkey - Realtors of the Year

This award is presented to Realtors who has gone above and beyond the call of membership. This year, the Realtors of the Year was awarded to two recipients. With a combined 40 years of real estate experience, Christie and Sara worked tirelessly to bring about the restructure of two Associations. They shared their duties as Co-Presidents and served on all 12 Association committees to make sure the best aspects from each previous association into one Sierra Nevada Realtors. And after all that, continued to be present in the media to communicate the value of working with a Realtors, provide insight of the real estate market, and continue to work their business. United we are stronger and united Christie and Sara elevated Sierra Nevada Realtors to the next level.

Jorge Montoya


Jorge Montoya - Affiliate of the Year

This award is presented to an Affiliate Member for their dedication, passion, and commitment to the Realtor community and the community they call home. Jorge Montoya received this award not only for helping bring Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Action through the IDEA Committee, but for his willingness to answer the call. Jorge has helped Sierra Nevada Realtor expand the value of homeownership on Spanish radio, TV, Homebuyer Seminars, and ignites others to bring that same excitement to their clients.

Alisa Andrews


Alisa Andrews and Jessica Hodges - Mat Gibbons Good Neighbor Award

This award is presented to a Realtor who has not only served the Association but has served their community. Alisa Andrews quietly dedicates her time to Spirit of Hope which provides temporary housing, services, and programs to help those who need a hand up. This includes developing life skills and training to help them get back into the community. Jessica Hodges dedicated more than 5 years to Kids Cottage. Kids Cottage is the first step when entering the foster care program and provides beds, clothing, toys, and other items to help children adjust into their new environment in the most stressful of situations.

Jessica Hodges


Brad Spires


Brad Spires - Abraham Curry Award

This award is presented to someone who has advocated for the real estate industry and private property rights. Brad Spires is a retired Air Force pilot, Past President of Sierra Nevada Realtors and Past President of Nevada Realtors. Brad has served to advocate at the local and state level to protect private property rights and the real estate industry for over 30 years. He continues to work in real estate while advocating for Realtors and is present at the table when it comes to meaningful legislative changes to advance the rights of homeownership.

Margaret Finel


Margaret Finel - Educator of the Year

This award is presented to an instructor who has received high marks from students and gone above and beyond to provide the highest level of education. Margaret Finel, a Realtor for over 10 years, has dedicated time and energy to improve and grow educational resources for Sierra Nevada Realtors. She has spent hundreds of hours writing new courses, updating existing courses, all while running her real estate business. Students who take her courses can feel her excitement for the industry and that education is the best path to provide the highest level of service to clients.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment